English

OpenRunner

this is the story of a company like no other...

Our story
It was 2006, the dawn of the digital age, a time when GPS was still in its infancy. A seasoned endurance athlete and practising triathlete, Eric Thouvenin, felt the need to plan his training and outings, calculating the distance and altitude difference of bike and running routes in advance.
This initial personal need led to the novel idea – with no commercial stakes behind it – to create a prototype allowing tracks to be created and sent to a GPS, to follow each route. As it offers the opportunity to run freely however the mood takes you in the largest “open space” available – the outdoors – the name OpenRunner was a natural choice.
This experimental device evolved very quickly in accordance with the positive feedback of many users.
Cyclists, runners, hikers and equestrians, rollerbladers… Everyone saw OpenRunner as an innovative tool that finally met their expectations.
So after 10 years of Parisian life, Éric returned to his native land of Annecy and developed a personal need into a complete solution for a community of outdoor practitioners, surrounded by a small team of enthusiasts.
And since 2010, OpenRunner has been nestled in the heart of the French Alps, in Annecy, a true stronghold of the outdoors.
How to best describe OpenRunner?
Since its inception, OpenRunner has been constantly evolving to allow outdoor enthusiasts to plot, plan, track and record all types of outdoor activities.
A complete platform
With advanced and unique features and a wide choice of topographic maps, the website was first created in 2006, and a mobile app was launched at the end of 2017, making OpenRunner a complete French digital platform to enjoy each outdoor experience in a different way, in any season.
At OpenRunner, we encourage the exploration and discovery of new places, new sensations, new encounters and new practices. We want everyone to be able to enjoy their passion in their own way, at their own pace, without worrying about constraints.
A simple solution
This is why OpenRunner is so easy to use. It only takes a few clicks to create your route, save your activities and share it with your friends and community.
Plot your route on the high definition topographic map of your choice, consult the height difference with the elevation profile, locate and add points of interest... You're the one who decides on and draws the contours of your freedom.
Inspiration and Exploration
And if you're looking for inspiration to go on adventures, you can access thousands of routes shared by other users.
Cycling, mountain biking, gravel, running, trail running, skiing, hiking... More than 6 million routes are available, created by more than a million passionate users of all ages!
Filter by location, distance, altitude change or activity to find the outdoor experience that suits you.
With OpenRunner, you break down the barriers of your outdoor activities. There are no limits to your creativity.
Our values
OpenRunner is much more than a digital solution based on technology and innovation to track routes. It's a community. It represents a family of enthusiasts who adhere to the same values: sociability, accessibility, exploration and sharing.
It is an active and engaged community that takes an active part in the development of the app. It is a community that resembles us and which makes OpenRunner a space for exchanging and sharing experiences. What motivates us is our desire to constantly develop new features to improve user experience and make it intuitive and enjoyable.
Loyal users who make that if OpenRunner exists and is not a company like the others, it is in large part thanks to the subscription to annual subscriptions, which allows us to self-finance ourselves by reinvesting in our development, without public investors nor private.
What distinguishes us at OpenRunner is that we encourage outdoor activities for health and well-being, without forgetting to preserve our most precious playground, nature. This is one of our commitments.
This is why we also educate app users to respect the environment and the local fauna and flora.
Being close to our users is part of our DNA. For our small team of enthusiasts and sports fans with a spirit of adventure and discovery, it is a point of honour for OpenRunner to become your companion and guide, always by your side during your activities, or behind your screen.
And if you want to know who is behind OpenRunner, get to know the team!
Help
Contact the support team
Language
English
Login
Create an account
Log in
Legal information
Legal Notice
Follow us
Application OpenRunner Android Application OpenRunner Apple
© 2024 OpenRunner - Version 7.23.0
and join the community of enthusiasts!

Français

OpenRunner

c'est l'histoire d'une entreprise pas comme les autres...

Notre histoire
Nous sommes en 2006, à l'aube de l'ère numérique, une époque où les GPS en sont encore à leurs balbutiements. Sportif d’endurance aguerri et pratiquant de triathlon, Eric Thouvenin ressent alors le besoin de planifier ses entraînements et sorties, en calculant à l’avance la distance et le dénivelé d’un parcours vélo ou de course à pied.
De ce besoin initial personnel germe l’idée inédite, sans enjeu commercial à la base, de créer un prototype permettant la création et l’envoi de tracés vers un GPS, pour suivre chaque parcours. Courir librement au gré de ses envies dans le plus grand “open space” disponible, l’Outdoor : le nom OpenRunner s’impose naturellement.
Un dispositif expérimental qui évolue très vite en fonction des retours positifs de nombreux utilisateurs.
Cyclistes, coureurs à pied, randonneurs pédestres et équestres, pratiquants de rollers… Tous voient en OpenRunner un outil innovant répondant enfin à leurs attentes.
Alors après 10 ans de vie parisienne, Éric revient sur sa terre natale, à Annecy, et fait évoluer ce qui était un besoin personnel en véritable solution complète pour une communauté de pratiquants outdoor, en s’entourant d’une petite équipe de passionnés.
Et c'est ainsi que depuis 2010, OpenRunner est niché au cœur des Alpes françaises, à Annecy, véritable place forte de l’Outdoor.
Comment décrire au mieux OpenRunner ?
Depuis sa création, OpenRunner ne cesse d’évoluer pour permettre aux passionnés d’Outdoor de tracer, planifier, suivre et enregistrer tous types d’activités extérieures.
Une plateforme complète
Avec des fonctionnalités avancées et uniques, un large choix de cartes topographiques, un site web créé à l’origine en 2006 et une app mobile qui a vu le jour fin 2017, OpenRunner est une plateforme digitale française complète pour vivre chaque expérience outdoor différemment, en toute saison.
Chez OpenRunner, nous encourageons l’exploration, la découverte de nouveaux endroits, de nouvelles sensations, de nouvelles rencontres et de nouvelles pratiques. Nous souhaitons que chacun puisse vivre sa passion à sa manière, à son rythme, sans se soucier des contraintes.
Une solution simple
C'est pourquoi OpenRunner est si facile à utiliser. Il suffit de quelques clics pour créer votre parcours, enregistrer votre activité et la partager avec vos amis et votre communauté.
Tracez votre parcours sur la carte topographique en haute définition de votre choix, consultez le dénivelé avec le profil altimétrique, repérez et ajoutez des points d’intérêt… C’est vous qui décidez et dessinez les contours de votre liberté.
Inspiration et Exploration
Et si vous cherchez l’inspiration pour partir à l’aventure, vous pouvez accéder à des milliers de parcours partagés par d'autres utilisateurs.
Cyclisme, VTT, gravel, course à pied, trail, ski, randonnée… Plus de 6 millions de parcours, créés par plus d’un million d’utilisateurs passionnés de tout âge, sont à disposition !
Filtrez par localité, distance, dénivelé ou activité pour trouver l’expérience outdoor qui vous ressemble.
Avec OpenRunner, vous décloisonnez vos activités extérieures, il n'y a plus de limites à votre créativité.
Nos valeurs
OpenRunner, c’est bien plus qu’une solution digitale basée sur la technologie et l’innovation permettant de tracer des parcours. C’est une communauté. Une famille de passionnés qui adhèrent aux mêmes valeurs : la convivialité, l’accessibilité, l’exploration et le partage.
Une communauté active et engagée, qui participe au développement de l’application. Une communauté qui nous ressemble et qui fait en sorte que OpenRunner soit un espace d'échanges et de partage d'expériences. Développer constamment de nouvelles fonctionnalités pour améliorer l'expérience utilisateur et faire en sorte qu’elle soit intuitive et agréable, c’est ce qui nous motive.
De fidèles utilisateurs qui font que si OpenRunner existe et n’est pas une entreprise comme les autres, c’est en très grande partie grâce à la souscription aux abonnements annuels, qui nous permet de nous autofinancer en réinvestissant dans notre développement, sans investisseurs publics ni privés.
Ce qui nous distingue chez OpenRunner, c’est que nous encourageons la pratique des activités outdoor pour la santé et le bien-être, sans pour autant oublier de préserver notre terrain de jeu le plus précieux, la nature. C’est un de nos engagements.
C'est pourquoi nous sensibilisons aussi les utilisateurs de l'application à respecter l'environnement, la faune et la flore locales.
Être proche de nos utilisateurs, c’est notre ADN. Notre petite équipe de passionnés et pratiquants à l’esprit d'aventure et de découverte met un point d’honneur à ce que OpenRunner soit votre compagnon, votre guide, toujours à vos côtés lors de vos activités, ou derrière votre écran.
Et si vous souhaitez savoir qui se cache derrière OpenRunner, partez à la découverte de l’équipe !
Aide
Contacter l’équipe Support
Langue
Français
Connexion
Créer un compte
Se connecter
Informations légales
Mentions légales
Suivez-nous
Application OpenRunner Android Application OpenRunner Apple
© 2024 OpenRunner - Version 7.23.0
et rejoignez la communauté de passionnés !